Long gcode files

I’m a newbie trying some intricate carving using Vectric’s photoVcarve, but the gcode files are very long and I’m having trouble getting an entire file to send to the X-carve.

I’ve tried UGS, but it throws a “null” error and stops about an hour or two into a longer job. I haven’t had much luck with Chilipeppr either, and I read that it has a file limit and wasn’t designed with really large files in mind.

The gcode was generated using the vcarve post processor. I’ve been trawling the web to find out why the files aren’t working, and even went so far as to send sample files to Vectric for validation - they’re long but OK. But I’m still blocked.

Anyone have any experience and suggestions for the best way of getting long gcode files to run to an X-carve? UGS settings, other software, etc?

Haven’t done too much of this, but is it possible to break the code into chunks and run them sequentially?

bCNC has been tested by the lead Grbl developer and found to work well and reliably for longer jobs:

The other option is the gctrl sending command line program which is used to test Grbl w/ long files.

Our Windows PicSender streamer program has been tested to run up to 10,000,000 lines of raster gcode files reliably.

There are some X-Carve owners use it for engraving Lithophanes in this thread.

1 Like

If you’re running long Picture files, you definitely need PicSender. It is very reliable and low cost solution.

1 Like

I second using PicSender!

1 Like

I am absolutely getting PicSender and testing it out tonight. Thanks very much for the quick feedback and links, much appreciated! bCNC looks interesting also, and I may try that as well.

My test job from Easel worked great, so the machine is set up and working properly, now just need to get the software so I can do what I really want to do. :smile: