Safety Recomendations For an X-Carve Enclosure

I have been planning to build an enclosure for my X-Carve to drown out sound, and keep particles contained, very similar to the one built by ChinhTMai https://discuss.inventables.com/t/soundproof-enclosure/27458/12. I understand that there are many resources about these enclosures, however my father is preventing me from building the enclosure, as it may pose a fire hazard. I understand the concern and him and I have come up with ideas to improve the safety of the system by using fireproof materials, attaching a vacuum or a coolant system, or by making the container air tight. This has halted my design process, and before I continue further, I would like to reach out to the community. My X-Carve will be modified form an 1000mm system to a 1000x750mm system, and I will have other modifications like a raised gantry, and maybe in the future attach some ball screws (Just extra information and context).

Please note that I am very new to CNC machining, the X-carve being my introduction and explaining may be necessary. This is also my very first forum post so if I am breaking any rules or misconducting myself please let me know.

Thank you.

1 Like

Your best defense against fire is to never leave the machine alone while it is carving. Be sure you build the enclosure so you can always see what is going on inside and then be in the room while it is running. Before anything catches fire there will be a lot of smoke and time to hit the E-Stop.

2 Likes