Z-Axis Calibration

I just finished my X-Carve build and I attempted using the calibration project in EASEL and the carve wentthrough my 1/2" MDF board and another 3/8" into my waste board.

Do I calibrate the Z-Axis with or without material?

I am a newbie at CNC.

I recommend doing your initial calibration without material, and then doing the calibration project once you have it dialed in. I designed the project to be indicative of lost steps and calibration errors under load, but the default values provided by Easel usually need to be tweaked slightly for the individual machine.

If you have a dial indicator, you can attach it to your spindle mount and calibrate the Z axis using it. I showed how to do that near the end of my video on calibration, in this thread: X-Carve Maintenance/Troubleshooting Videos - Add Your Own!

What is your current steps/mm setting for your Z axis, and what type of lead screw do you have (M8 or ACME)? You can look at the Machine Inspector in Easel to find the setting, and if you post it here we can tell you whether it’s roughly accurate or not.

My X-Carve is heavily modified, here are some pictures. I am using an C-Beam™ Linear Actuator Bundle “ACME SCREW” from OpenBuilds and I amusing X-Controller.

See following PICS

Machine Inspector has the following readings.
Machine PO1
X 12.700
Y 10.150
Z -25.400

Work POS
X 0.00
Y -0.010
Z 0.00

$100 = 40.000
$101 = 40.000
$102 = 188.976

Thank for your help.

1 Like

Nice looking machine! Did the actuator bundle add any significant weight to it? You’ll definitely be glad you’ve stiffned the X-axis if it did.

The $100-102 settings look like what I had initially, so assuming it’s the same size screw you’ll just have to dial it in using the calibration procedure. When you tell it to move up and down, does it move about the right distance?

Larger images would let us see some detail.

Sorry about the pictures. Let’s try again.